Sometimes a situation presents itself where you have to make a choice.  You can let something go and be happy.  Or you can be right and end up being unhappy.  This is true for relationships, business, raising children, and how you think.   In this last example, I am referring to self esteem, state of mind, and positive thinking.

If you think your going to fail at something, you are programming your self not to succeed. If you think think your not worthy of getting a promotion, you will probably wont.  At the same time if you think you can achieve your goals you will.   How you feel about yourself will set off a chain of events that will follow your mindset and inner beliefs.  How you perceive yourself  affects the outcome of all your endeavors.  So you can set yourself up to succeed or fail.  The choice is yours.

If you think your not worthy of having a relationship, guess what your relationship will crumble.  So in a sense you will be right, but will you be happy.  What I am suggesting is that it is better to be happy than to be right.   Everyone is worthy of having a relationship, of getting the promotion.  But it requires belief in yourself and having self esteem.

If you lack self esteem rather than look back at what you have done wrong or failed to do.  Look back at all the things you have succeeded at and draw from that. It could be as simple as winning a chess game, or having had one incredible sale at work, or the time you dated someone special.

Another example is how you relate to people that have done you wrong.  As an example, when I was detained in in a third world country, a man kept stealing from me.  I knew he did it, in fact he even admitted doing it, all the while with a big grin on his face.  He had no respect for me.  I had the choice.  I could be right and tell on him or get in his face or even resort to violence, but what would that accomplish.  I would be right but would I be happy.  Violence is never a good option and more harm comes from it. If I went to the authorities, I would be right but what of the ramifications that would certainly come back to me. I am not saying that it is better to just let others walk over you. In this situation I felt it best to just let it go and surrender to what is.   The result is that my anger went away and I was happy. I knew that my time in that place would come to an end and these problems were not life threatening.  And, I remembered the saying that this too shall pass.  I also realized that I could not change this persons behavior, nor did I want to try. We each have to follow our own paths and in this case I chose the way of less resistance and hostility. I am happy that the problems did not get out of hand.

I am sure those of you reading this have had situations arise that that you had to make a choice to be right or to be happy.  IF your willing to share your experience, I would love to read about it.

